Is Evangelicalism the Best?

Pete Enns argues for a more modest approach than what he sees as a common evangelical explanation for the superiority of the evangelical tradition:

evangelicalism is the best iteration of Christianity because it is most faithful to the Bible and most in line with the history of the church

He makes some good points, but in the end I think I could accept a modest exceptionalism. I ought to think the tradition I am part of is the best one (at least in most cases), or else I should go elsewhere. At the same time, I recognize my tradition could be wrong and that there are still things of value in other traditions that we can learn from. I think that perspective probably satisfies most of his concerns, but may not be strong enough for some evangelicals. I can live with that.

Leave a Reply

