Is the Rapture a Bad Idea?

My friend Greg Boyd says so, in a video someone pointed me to (don’t remember who now). The big problem is that escaping suffering is not what the rapture is about (though I don’t doubt some distort it that way). It’s about being delivered from divine wrath. I’m willing to recognize it’s an inference, not a mark of orthodoxy, and a few other concessions here and there in our discussions. I certainly don’t lead with it. But I long for a higher level of debate on both sides of this topic.

Leave a Reply

