Bible Translations

This response to Mark Driscoll’s explanation of why Mars Hill uses the ESV is mostly helpful. I have no problem with the ESV per se (my church mostly uses it), but I am concerned about providing unhelpful arguments in support of the practice. Choosing a translation is complicated and I think there are several good options. I think for many, the real reason they use the ESV is because the translation matches some of their general theological framework. I’m actually OK with that in the church setting, but if our goal is to help people understand the Bible, we’ll teach them how to properly use other translations as well.

Leave a Reply

