Contradictions

Two separate accounts I read recently have forced me to reflect on a disturbing reality: Christians whose lives are in some respects inconsistent with their public teaching. Now to be sure, I’m not pointing fingers, because I have plenty of flaws. I’m just not important enough to be the object of such scrutiny.

The first is A.W. Tozer. In many ways such a giant of the faith, but at the very least an unhappy home and apparently not a good husband in many ways.

The second is John Howard Yoder. A significant Anabaptist theologian who failed in important ways to live up to his own ideals. You can read the essay for the full story (it’s not all that pretty).

The takeaway is that all of us can (and often do) fail. Our heroes are only human. And I need to be careful lest I too am inconsistent.

Leave a Reply

