Religious Intolerance

An interesting account of a search for religion unhindered by political considerations. The author, a secular Jew, began to look for a non-political place of worship. Here’s what she found:

Checking out churches online, I found almost none that offered political neutrality. Most heralded their progressive credentials, welcoming the transgendered, but not conservatives.

I was pleased to find an Episcopal church whose website focused on religion, not ObamaCare. I left a message for the priest that I was looking for a church that didn’t press a political agenda because I wasn’t a liberal.

I received an icy reply from the priest, the Reverend Lucy, who said with barely-contained disgust, “I don’t think you should check us out.”

Her response left me shaken and angry. I understand that leftists despise conservatives. I have seen that creepy look of pure hatred when I naïvely told a leftist friend about my political conversion.

But an Episcopal priest rejecting me during the holiest time of year? Isn’t anything or anyone sacred?

The point of the story is the inconsistency of the “tolerant left.” My observation goes a different way – I’ve been in plenty of right-leaning churches that do basically the same thing. Non-Republicans are considered suspect; particular political views are considered equivalent to orthodoxy. Even when I have agreed with the particular, I’m committed to the notion that the church and the gospel transcends these mundane political things. Perhaps this story is a good lesson for all of us.

Update: You can also read a description of her visit to a Catholic church after the Berkeley debacle. It’s much more uplifting.

Leave a Reply

